# Society of Professors of Education 2023 Annual Meeting

Refusing the Return: Mobilizing Toward Just Educational Futures



8:15am – 4:30pm Saturday, April 15th Intercontinental Chicago Magnificent Mile, Renaissance Room

### 8:15am-8:20am

Opening Remarks, Brian D. Schultz, President, Society of Professors of Education

### 8:30am-9:45am

*Paper Session One: Contending with Curricular Controversies*Chair/Moderator: Wade Tillett, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Disintegrations: Pedagogies of Hypocrisies for our Contemporary Worlds

Wade Tillett, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater

Empathetic Attunement by Understanding Hardship and Suffering in Schools: A Qualitative Inquiry **Joseph A. Polizzi**, Sacred Heart University

A Critical Analysis of Curriculum Censorship in Florida: Implications for Responsible Educators **Dilys Schoorman,** Florida Atlantic University **Rosanna Gatens,** Florida Atlantic University

Why LGTBQ+ Education Matters: Reconstructing the Curriculum Using a Human Rights Approach **Gloria T. Alter**, Northern Illinois University

### 9:55am-11:10am

Paper Session Two: Critical Support and Considerations for K-12 Practice

Chair/Moderator: Meghan Phadke, Miami University

Virtual Academic Coaching (vAC): IT Concepts and Best Practices for Educators

**Paul Gregor**, The Ohio State University **Jessica Gregor**, University of Dayton

Supporting Early Career Teachers in Tumultuous Times

Kenzie Andrews, Miami University

Repositioning Art Education within Educational Equity in K-12 Urban Schools: A Partnership Between Philadelphia Public Schools and the Barnes Foundation

Carolyn L. Berenato, Cabrini University

The Browning of America's Suburban Schools: Ongoing Implications for P-12 Teachers **Meghan Phadke**, Miami University

### 11:20am-12:20pm

Panel Discussion: (Re)Imagining a Just and Sustainable Doctoral Study in Education

Chair/Moderator: **Jessica Heybach**, Florida International University Panelists:

Jessica Heybach, Florida International University

Leonard J. Waks, Temple University

Peter Renn, Seattle Pacific University

Johnny Lupinacci, Washington State University

12:30pm-1:45pm

Paper Session Three: Debates in Imagining Just Educational Futures

Chair/Moderator: Kelli Rushek, Miami University

Imagining Teaching Futures and Juggling the Knowledge Question **David Lambert**, UCL Institute of Education, London **Kelly León**, San Diego State University

Experimentalism and the Liberal Arts: Mutually Enhancing or Irreconcilably Opposed? **Leonard J. Waks,** Temple University

Hyperindividualism and the Relative Power of Teachers **Zachary A. Casey,** Rhodes College

Black Educators Fictive Kinship Networks as Critical Race Practice: A Model for a Just Educational Future **Daniella Ann Cook**, University of South Carolina **Nathaniel Bryan**, Miami University

### 1:50pm-2:15pm Awards Session

Martha Allexsaht-Snider Award: Gyewon Jang, Ph.D. Candidate, Georgia State University Mary Ann Raywid Award: Rachel Endo, Professor and Dean, University of Washington, Tacoma

William H. Watkins Award: Anthony Brown, Professor, University of Texas, Austin

Richard Wisniewski Award: Technology in Teacher Education program at Texas A&M University

**Book Awards:** To Be Announced

### 2:30pm-3:30pm 2023 Charles DeGarmo Lecture and Award



Introduction: Program Co-Chairs, Meghan Phadke & Kelli Rushek, Miami University

**Bettina Love,** William F. Russell Professor, Teachers College, Columbia University "Punished for Dreaming: Abolitionist Teaching and The Case for Educational Reparations"

\* SPE Annual Business Meeting will commence at the close of the DeGarmo Lecture.

# **Society of Professors of Education Leadership**

2023 SPE Program Co-Chairs: Meghan Phadke, Miami University Kelli Rushek, Miami University

Thank you to the 2023 SPE Program Reviewers:
Carolyn Berenato, Cabrini University
Zachary A. Casey, Rhodes College
Daniella Ann Cook, University of South Carolina
Paul Gregor, The Ohio State University
Joseph A. Polizzi, Sacred Heart University

Society of Professors of Education Officers:

President: Brian Schultz, Miami University

President Elect: TBA

Past President: Carol Mullen, Virginia Tech Secretary/Treasurer: Robert Morris, West Georgia University

Webmaster: Kate Shively, Ball State University

## Society of Professors of Education Board Members:

2022-2024

Nicholas Hartlep, Berea College Seungho Moon, Loyola University Chicago Therese Quinn, University of Illinois at Chicago

2021-2023

Keffrelyn Brown, University of Texas-Austin Mary Kay DeLaney, University of Denver Paula Groves Price, Washington State University

Professing Education Editors
Mary Kay Delaney, University of Denver
Gretchen Givens Generett, Duquesne University
Paula Groves Price, Washington State University
Joseph Rayle, Cortland State University

### 2023 Award Committee Chairs:

Nomination Committee Chair: William Schubert, Emeritus, University of Illinois-Chicago Mary Ann Raywid Award Chair: Nicholas Hartlep, Berea College Richard Wisniewski Award Committee Chair: Bradley Conrad, Capital University William H. Watkins Award Chair: Jason Lukasik, Augsburg University Martha Allexsaht-Snider Award: Tricia Kress, Molloy College DeGarmo Lecture and Award Chair: Brian Schultz, Miami University Book Awards Committee Chair: Pamela Konkol, Concordia University of Chicago

Special thanks to the Daniel Tanner Foundation for the generous donation in support of the event.