Society of Professors of Education 2024 Annual Meeting

Confronting the Responsibilities of Professors of Education: Cultivating Educational Futures While Contending with Local & Global Challenges

> 8:00am – 4:00pm Saturday, April 13th Philadelphia Marriott Downtown 1200 Filbert Street Level 5, Salon F

Special thanks to the Daniel Tanner Foundation for the generous donation in support of the event.

PROGRAM

8:15am-8:40am: Opening Remarks

Brian D. Schultz, President, Society of Professors of Education

8:45am-10:00am: Paper Session 1

Narratives, Aesthetic Experiences, and Spatiality in Curriculum Theory Chair: Carol A. Mullen, Virginia Tech University

Meditations on a Pandemic: Poems' Educational Meanings Using Literary Analysis Carol A. Mullen, Virginia Tech University Charles L. Lowery, Virginia Tech University

A Phenomenological Inquiry on Spatially-Related Activities during Block and Brick Play Daniel Ness, *St. John's University*

Fa(r)thering & the Aesthetic Experience: Multifaceted Narratives of Be/coming Father Seungho Moon, Loyola University Chicago

Reconceptualizing Teacher Knowledge through Currere Wanying Wang, St. John's University

10:10am-11:25am: Paper Session 2

Critical Pedagogies and Theories in Education

Chair: Tricia Kress, Molloy University

Dewey as a Critical Theorist: Toward a Critical Democratic Education Theory through Dewey's Social Theory

Charles L. Lowery, Virginia Tech University

Critical Pedagogy and Ableism: A Philosophical Reckoning and Reinvention

Tricia Kress, Molloy University

Gayitri Kavita Indar, Molloy University

Marisa Aiello, Molloy University

Jamie Rothe, Molloy University

Between Technical and Critical Literacies: The Role of Language Teachers in Brazilian Vocational Contexts

Daniele Barbosa de Souza Almeida, Instituto Federal de Sergipe, Brazil

Emergent Spatial, Engineering, and Architectural Thinking during Block Play: An Ontogenetic Study Daniel Ness, St. John's University

11:30am-12:20pm: Paper Session 3

Confronting our Past and Present in Education Chair: Joseph A. Polizzi, Penn State University

Challenging Prosperous Curriculum Reason Towards an Anapluralectic Itinerant Curriculum Theory

João M. Paraskeva, University of Strathclyde, Scotland

Discerning Love: Confronting Higher Education with Joy, Equanimity, and Empathy Joseph A. Polizzi, *Penn State University*

12:30pm-2:00pm: Awards Session and Charles DeGarmo Lecture with Chezare Warren

Martha Allexsaht-Snider Award: Shuang Fu, University of Georgia

Mary Ann Raywid Award: Robert J. Helfenbein, Mercer University

William H. Watkins Award: M. Fran Huckaby, Texas Christian University

Richard Wisniewski Award for Teacher Education: Loyola University Maryland, M.A. Program in Curriculum and Instruction for Social Justice

William H. Schubert Award: João M. Paraskeva, University of Strathclyde, Scotland

Book Awards: To Be Announced

Charles DeGarmo Award: Chezare Warren, Associate Professor, Vanderbilt University
Charles DeGarmo Lecture: Empathy in Black: Race and the Spectacle of Human Connection

2:15pm-3:30pm: Professors of Education Discussion Panel

Curriculum Theorizing: Professors of Education Enacting Praxis Chair: Kelly P. Vaughn, Purdue University, Northwest

Kelly P. Vaughn, Purdue University, Northwest Anthony Brown, University of Texas, Austin M. Francyne Huckaby, Texas Christian University Isabel Nuñez, Purdue University, Fort Wayne Maya Pindycki, Moore College of Art and Design Asif Wilson, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

^{*} SPE Annual Business Meeting will commence at the close of program.

Society of Professors of Education Leadership

Society Officers

President: Brian D. Schultz, Miami University (2023-2024)
President-Elect: Keffrelyn Brown, University of Texas, Austin (2023-2024)
Immediate Past-President: Carol A. Mullen, Virginia Tech (2023-2024)
Secretary-Treasurer: Robert C. Morris, University of West Georgia (2023-2024)

Board of Directors

Member-at-Large 2023-2024

Leonard Waks, Temple University

Member-at-Large 2024-2025

Edward Podsiadlik, University of Illinois, Chicago Anri Khare, Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning, and Dialogue

2022-2024

Nicholas D. Hartlep, *Berea College* Seungho Moon, *Loyola University*, *Chicago* Therese Quinn, *University of Illinois*, *Chicago*

2023-2025

Rouhollah Aghasaleh, California State University, Humboldt Asilia Franklin-Phipps, SUNY New Paltz Robert J. Helfenbein, Mercer University

2024-2026

Meghan Phadke, Miami University Kelli Rushek, Miami University Kelly P. Vaughan, Purdue University Calumet

Society Committee Positions

Webmaster

Kate Shively, Ball State University

Professing Education Editors

Mary Kay Delaney, Meredith College Gretchen Givens Generett, Duquesne University Paula Groves Price, North Carolina A&T State University

Sophist Bane Editors

Isabel Nuñez, Purdue University, Fort Wayne Pam Konkol, Concordia University, Chicago

Nominations Committee

Chair: William Schubert, University of Illinois, Chicago

DeGarmo Lecture & Award

Chair: Brian Schultz, *Miami University* Committee: Meghan Phadke & Kelli Rushek, *Miami University*

Wisniewski Award

Chair: Robert J. Helfenbein, Mercer University

William H. Watkins Award

Chair: Keffrelyn Brown, University of Texas, Austin

Martha Allexsaht-Snider Award

Chair: Rouhollah Aghasaleh, California State
University, Humboldt

William H. Schubert Award

Chair: Seungho Moon, Loyola University, Chicago

Book Awards

Chair: Pamela Konkol, Concordia University, Chicago

Raywid Award

Chair: Nicholas Hartlep, Berea College